Wrestling Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just want to help wrestling fans and competitors become aware of a version of wrestling that is rapidly growing in popularity around the world. I can't say that it is a new version of wrestling since the world league considers it to be the oldest version of wrestling.

The sport is beach wrestling, which takes place on a level sand surface. Since the action takes place on the sand, (rather than the entire beach), the contest could be held nearly anywhere.

Beach wrestling is a version of amateur wrestling (sponsorships are easier than mat wrestling), although I am a trained pro wrestler as well and truly believe that anyone could be sucessful at the sport, regarless of wrestling experience. Beach Wrestling is a world wide recognized sport by FILA, and has an annual World Championship each and every year.

The rules are simple, score a point by pushing your opponent out of bounds, or by scoring a takedown. Two points wins the match. You could also win by putting your foe on his/her back.

I am bringing this up, because I truly believe that everyone could certainly enjoy the outdoor version of the sport. I could certainly vision independant pro wrestling groups starting to host contests, as there is a great potential for sponsorships, as well as hosting exibition pro matches next to the contest. Anyone that is interested in hosting a beach wrestling contest, I can point you in the right direction (such as needed equipment and the event logistical strategies).

I was just a guest on a pro wrestling radio show this past Sunday (Oct 24th), and had a lot of fun talking about beach wrestling. The show is "Smart Mark Radio", if anyone is interested in listening. I would certainly be interested in appearing on any onther wrestling based radio show.