Wrestling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
#TEAMFIT
7,953 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
The WWE is really becoming a kids show and I believe its really hurting how the business is perceived. I don't think Vince realizes the huge amount of power his product has in terms of influencing peoples opinions of the business. Since he's basically the only mainstream promotion in the US, most people judge the whole Wrestling Business based off what the WWE puts out. So if the WWE continues to put out a product aimed at kids, the Pro Wrestling Industry also becomes painted in the same picture and people who are into more adult promotions like ROH, PWG, more indy stuff etc. get unfairly made fun or looked down upon. There are so many times when I meet someone and I happen to mention that I'm a pro wrestling fan and they reply back to me "Your a pro-wrestling fan? The WWE is for kids lol......". It sucks because I don't feel I should have to hide something as random as pro wrestling just so people won't judge me negatively in such a huge way. Im just sick of trying to explain to them difference and having to explain that the WWE only represents one aspect of pro wrestling and there are other promotions out there.

And yes I know Pro Wrestling has always had a negative vibe, but it seems nowdays the negativity is off the chart. I mean Vince having a program about two guys beating each other up aimed at kids really doesn't do any good for the business as a whole imo. Maybe for Vinces wallet but thats about it honestly.

Anyway anyone else agree?

·
Registered
7,658 Posts
- Wrestling has never had a great image.
While someone can't believe that two wrestlers are going under the ring to go to "midget court", someone else in 98 could'n believe they bore witness that an old lady giving birth to a hand.

- After 1999 watching wrestling became uncool.
no matter if it's Hornswoggle vs. Chavo or Shawn Micheals vs. Undertaker, it's still two guys in colorful tights fake fighting.