Wrestling Forum banner

Mason Ryan in-ring?

4568 40
So we saw the Welshman having his first match since joining the WWE, what were peoples thoughts? Ok, so it was a bit of a squash job, but I thought he looked quite impressive and liked the look of his submission hold (I'm no expert with the names of wrestling moves so forgive me!).

I know it hardly mapped out his career in the companny but any early thoughts on this guy in general? Can he go to the top?
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
865 Posts
It looked like a Brock Lock (Lesnar's submission finisher) to me - a modified half-nelson. It's better than a boring side slam.
Shame the crowd were killed by Truth - he should have got a better reaction.

·
Premium Member
86,249 Posts
He was decent. There's a whole lot of room for improvement, that's for sure. Truth killed any heat the man should have gained for his post match beat down.

·
Registered
267 Posts
He looks like a stronger, younger Dave Batista (I know, right?).

The big difference is that Dave didn't know an armbar from a crowbar when he came into the WWE and Mason Ryan is already an experienced in-ring performer.

I'm excited by his potential. Hopefully they book him more like Wade Barrett and less like Sheamus (at least once he won the title).

wk

·
Dragon Slayer
6,701 Posts
He shouldn't have "debuted" against truth. WWE could have given him Morrison or Sheamus who could have helped him look a lot better. His weird Torture Rack like motion was also a bit off looking and looked worse in slo-mo, especially considering Truth was corpsing the whole time he was in the leghold. He'd probably be better off with an impact move after the finisher. We all know hes very good from his FCW time so hopefully he's given time to grow, and better opponents.

·
#EMMAtained
5,963 Posts