Wrestling Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3,280 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a gifted minority honors student who wants to do graduate studies in Sociology. I am not a slacker by any means. I graduate magna sum laude, won two national awards from the American Sociological Association and the Association of Black Sociologists, and an ex ASA president likes my work. I've also taken my finding to gay rights organizations to help them deal with homophobia in the black community. I've also won awards for my work with minority retention rates at university.

However, the recent reports on academic jobs makes me apprehensive about persuing graduate studies. While I would love to be an academic, I know it might not happen. I don't believe I have to have an academic job to be happy with the PhD. I would also love think tank work or working as a policy analyst or advocate.

I propose this question for Sociologist and other social scientists: How feasible is it for me to work at a think tank or as a policy analyst after the PhD if I can't get an academic? I don't want to waste 5 years of my life on an education to be as underemployed as I am now. Also, are their middle paths besides social work for academically gifted and socially conscious people?

·
Premium Member
17,315 Posts
Sociology PhD is useless, unless you want to teach it at a college, completely useless. Anyone that does sociology for marketing, therapy, or other dumb shit; employers are looking for younger people who don't have PhDs.

But then again, a lot of people have PhDs right now and aren't being hired. I was going for my RD (registered dietetician) but cancelled that and now am majoring in economics/nutrition (double major). I don't have any authority though to properly answer your question.

·
Registered
1,828 Posts