Wrestling Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Cena has never served in the military, but he gets the imagery of having been a Marine.

I also just watched his Wrestlemania 26 entrance with the U.S. Air Force Honor Guard Drill Team. Honestly, I thought it was disgusting. The military shouldn't pay homage to John Cena, John Cena should pay homage to the military, first and foremost by acknowledging their presence, instead of running through them and then saluting the crowd.

·
Premium Member
293 Posts
I agree. There is no need to use an honor guard as a prop for an entrance. But if their commanding officers didn't have a problem with it...meh..

The military is always looking for exposure for recruiting so I guess the WM26 entrance was a win-win.

·
Banned
404 Posts
President of the USA has never served day #1 in the military, yet he get full honors.
I'm a 14 year USMC vet including 3 combat tours, I don't have a problem with the respect paid to Cena.
He is well known to be military friendly, has the gung ho attitude typical of fighting men ,,, And most important of all, from the military's perspective, is good for recruiting.
Clean cut, athletic, motivated ,,, What more could you ask for ?
Its win/win, if you ask me. Military gets a high profile advocate who is ultra popular with the future young adults that the military wants, and Cena gets to feed his fantasy and strut around like hes in uniform.

I think the honors entrance was a bit overblown, and I think his salutes with every entrance are slightly goofy, and sometimes makes me wince ,,, But, once again, the potential he has got for recruiting, and the positive light he sheds on the service, cannot be under estimated, and certainly are not lost on the public relations units of all services, who are always on the lookout for celebs like Cena.
He probably has no equal, and is treated like a VIP because he is a VIP.

·
Registered