Wrestling Forum banner

Genealogy

594 Views 15 Replies 15 Participants Last post by  Reaper
So has anyone ever spent time tracing your family history? I've been working on mine for about 10 years now and somedays still feel like I need to scratch it all and start over,

Most of my dad's family has been traced to Scotland back in the 1500s. My mom's family has proven to be much more difficult. Her great-grandparents immigrated legally from Sweden in 1856. Unfortunately they completely changed their names when they got here. I do have one generation of names in Sweden, but I have no clue how to search them. Every generation back the last name changes!

Anyway just curious if anyone has done any digging into the past.
Reactions: CJ
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Magic, sparkles and Strap-ons!
14,762 Posts
My Father's family side were farmers and bandits from Mexico, Mexican and Spanish ancestry. I know the Spanish side were some of the first conquistadors there. My Mother is Dutch Jewish, Jewish from my Grandmothers side, Dutch from my Grandpas side. They came here about/after WWII, Iunno much of my grandmother's side but my Grandfathers side were mostly poor Soldiers and Mercenaries.

· Registered
1,007 Posts
I've been maintaining a GEDCOM file for the laset 8 years. The other day I created a family tree pdf diagram from it using MyHeritage Family Tree Builder and it's huge. I'm originally from India and in my parents' generation it was common to have 5 siblings so I've got dozens of cousins. Facebook has helped me connect with a lot of them.

MacFamilyTree also shows a beautiful 3D rendering of a GEDCOM file. yEd can also import them. GenalogyJ is good for editing it.

· Premium Member
39,701 Posts
Most of my ancestors on both sides originate from Scotland. With the only deviation from that being some French Huguenot ancestors on my mother's side.

· F*ck off I'm drinking
6,839 Posts