Wrestling Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7,358 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
CM Punk's media blitz in Sydney, Australia continues. Punk recently chatted with Mark Serrels, editor of Kotaku Australia. They spoke about the importance of Twitter, which Punk called "a fantastic tool." They also discussed Punk's in-ring persona, and how it's so close to his real-life character.

"I'm not some crazy person who thinks, you know, I am not Phil Brooks anymore, but I got into wrestling because I could pick a cool nickname and be a GI Joe guy!," said Punk. "All the GI Joe guys had codenames – CM Punk is my codename. At the same time, I'm not playing someone. I'm not a phoney Russian! I'm not an astronaut, I'm not a clown, I'm a straight-edge kid from Chicago. I'm a pro wrestler.

"I don't really know how to do anything else," he continued, "And I think that's why it's worked. People recognise that I'm not trying to be someone I'm not. Stone Cold Steve Austin didn't work as the Ringmaster, the Rock didn't work at Rocky Maivia — because it was forced. It was phoney and when you go out there and you try to be something you're not, whether it's conscious or sub-conscious, the fans see through it."

You can read the full interview here http://www.gizmodo.com.au/2011/10/how-do-pro-wrestlers-use-twitter/.
http://www.wrestlinginc.com/wi/news/2011/1010/545510/cm-punk/

Dont know if this was posted.

·
Registered
6,430 Posts
●●●●●●●●;10432923 said:
lol G.I Joe guy??

Is this another shot at the Rock?
yeah and when he said that he doesnt use twitter to advertise himself too :rolleyes:

i mean really he just the rock got over with the fans because he was not a phony if this was a shot then against cena

·
Raevolution is a Mystery
23,791 Posts
He makes a good point about Austin/Rock and NO it's not a shot at him before the onslaught comes in. ~___~

He's just saying that people are more natural when they play a character similar to themselves.

·
Registered
5,578 Posts