Wrestling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
9,861 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
On when C.M. Punk decided he wanted to become a professional wrestler: "I don't know when I consciously made that decision. It's something that I've always done. There was never any moment where I was, 'I'm doing this and I don't like this so I'm doing this.' I always wrestled. So, it was always there.

"I remember watching Roddy Piper on TV when I was a kid and it was like, 'Wow. This guy smashes people in the face, talks trash and he gets away with it.' And I assumed that everyone I saw on television was just a multi-millionaire. So, I thought that it looks like a fun job, so let's do it.

"[Financially, I had to make a decision to completely pursue wrestling] 100%. The last real world job was I was a lab tech and Underwriters Laboratory in Northbrook, Illinois. It was a legit job, you know -- benefits, strict hours. I always had other jobs to support my wrestling habit which is what we like to say.

"One day, I may or may not have been sleeping at my desk and one day my boss walked in, and I tried to pretend I was doing something. I had this look on my face and I was like, 'Ohh. I'm fired, aren't I?' ... You can't see it because it's radio, obviously, but I had this big grin on my face. I was just like, 'Sweet.'

"After that, it was full-court press. That was like the beginning of 2002. It was full-court press. I got a certain amount of severance and I was just going to go for it. I picked up my bags and I moved to Philly. A lot of the work was on the East coast so if I was in Philly, I could drive to New York. I could go everywhere. It just kind of blossomed from there."

On what made him decide to live his life straight edge:
"That's a pretty typical question because people always wonder if I was dependent on alcohol or drugs and is straight edge what keeps me sober. No. What I always tell people is I was born this way.