Wrestling Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,080 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I think about it more, I realize today what WWE is missing and their biggest mistakes. I grew up watching the tail end of the Attitude Era, and after comparing the earlier bits to what the WWE is today I think I have a solid idea of how WWE can improve their product, without necessarily just throwing in blood and swearing. They could, but on the current product, it would still suck (see TNA). There are at least 5 major things WWE is doing wrong, and I’d like to point them out and correct them. I know WWE writers probably don’t read these boards or give a damn, but I felt like expressing my views, as I am a creative writer myself, and there’s a lot of glaring errors on their part that make their product just make ends meet instead of evolving.

I apologize in advance for the long windedness of this post, but here we go. Here are some key points and factors:

1. Formulaic writing. The format of Raw these days can often be summed up like so:

• Two or more wrestlers have a conflict.
    • The GM (anonymous or otherwise) interrupts and schedules an otherwise meaningless match for the main event.
    • Occasional backstage scenes intermixed with brief and uninspired midcard matches and feuds
    • The match happens and either ends in the face winning clean or the heel cheating and stealing the win or getting DQ’d.
    • Sometimes a main event segment happens with the GM announcing a match for next week or the Pay Per View.